Last week, some players were alarmed by an email from Ubisoft informing them that their account had been suspended and was in danger of being deleted due to inactivity. An account marked in this way is subject to deletion after 30 days in accordance with the terms, provided, of course, that users do not respond that they want to keep it. However, there were players who should have deleted their account, thereby simultaneously losing access to all games that, in at least one case, were also purchased through Steam rather than directly through Ubisoft Connect. However, Ubisoft support guarantees users that they will not have to lose their games and accounts.
Hello. We just wanted to point out that you can avoid account closure by logging into your account within 30 days (of receiving the email pictured) and selecting the “Cancel Account Closure” link contained in the email. We certainly don’t want you to lose access to…
— Ubisoft Support (@UbisoftSupport) July 20, 2023
User with nickname Ponpon however, he lost his account, which, in his own words, also resulted in the loss of or access to Steam games he owned. Other players then mentioned that for a long time they didn’t even have access to the email they used to create the account. Support responded to this by saying that it can be restored, as well as stating that they definitely don’t want players to lose access, so they can contact support if they have trouble logging in. A large number of accounts could potentially be “at risk”, as it is not entirely clear what exactly counts as activity. In addition, a number of players did not use either Uplay or Ubisoft Connect, but rather only as a necessary intermediary to log in. As Ubisoft games are gradually returning to Steam, this will likely happen more frequently.