RD suspends entry of passengers from South Africa due to new variant of COVID-19

The president of the Civil Aviation Board (JAC), Jose Marte Piantini, announced this Friday the suspension of the entry of passengers from South Africa, Botswana, Lesotho, Namibia, Swaziland and Angola in the presence of the new variant of coronavirus omicron.

The official made the announcement through his Twitter account. The provision is contained in the resolution 278-2021 of the Civil Aviation Board.

The World Health Organization (WHO) determined today that the new variant of the coronavirus detected in South Africa is “risky” and possibly more contagious, in a day in which many countries, including the United States, Canada and the European Union, travel to southern Africa was suspended.

“The variant has been detected at a faster rate than in previous surges in the number of infections, which could indicate that it has an advantage when it comes to spreading,” WHO experts underlined in a statement.

While the Government of South Africa considered “hasty” the measures already adopted or under debate in many countries to suspend flights and / or prohibit the entry of travelers from southern African countries.

He asserted that South Africa is going to “dialogue with all countries” to reconsider these measures, since not even the World Health Organization (WHO) had time yet to define it as a “variant of concern” or to recommend measures. “

Source link

About Admin

Check Also

“I have had to hide from people who stared at me in public spaces”

Atholl Mills “I wouldn’t even leave my apartment. I was so worried people would look ... Read more

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.